By: Rodrigo S. Victoria

TACLOBAN CITY, Leyte – The regional awardees for this year’s search of the Model Overseas Filipino Worker (OFW) Family of the Year Awards (MOFYA) were named in an awarding ceremony held in Patio Victoria, Baluarte, San Jose this city today.

The 2011 MOFYA awardees are Captain Teddy V. Abrea of Almeria, Biliran for the sea-based category and Cesario G. De Dios, Jr of Ormoc City for the land-based category.

This year’s MOFYA awardees based on the two categories were chosen from among the list of regional nominees coming from the different parts of Region 8.

The list include Jose T. Genson of Naval, Biliran and Panfilo Abanilla of Tacloban City for the sea-based category and Nilo T. Cabantac of Basey, Samar, Jaime C. Orzales of Isabel, Leyte, Jaime C. Sapeda of Abuyog, Leyte and Romeo O. Navidad of San Policarpo, Eastern Samar for the land-based category.

The 2011 MOFYA regional winners in Eastern Visayas who received an award of P20, 000 each will still compete for the national search for the 2011 MOFYA which will be held sometime in December this year in Metro Manila.

The annual search spearheaded by the Overseas Workers Welfare Administration (OWWA) has the following criteria a) wholesome family-50% b) civic/community involvement of OFW-20% c) success in children’s or family member/s education-20% and d) success in managing family finances-10% totaling 100%.

This year’s MOFYA search was chaired by Atty. Forter G. Puguon, regional director, Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE) in Eastern Visayas.

The annual search is in partnership with Globe Telecommunications and Banco De Oro. (PIA 8)

Previous articleNSO-Biliran needs statistical coordination officer



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here