Mr. & Ms. NSU 2017
Mr. & Ms. NSU 2017

The Pillar Publication | Naval State University
Photos by University Media and Information

Armed with wit, beauty and talent as they ramped with confidence and grace before hundreds of crowd, College of Tourism (COT) and College of Maritime Education (COME) representatives gained the judges’ favor on the clash of beauty and brains during the recently concluded Search for Mr. and Ms. NSU 2017 held at the NSU gymnasium, August 30.

Mr. Renz Adam Sabornido, a Bachelor of Hotel and Restaurant Management student and Ms. Christy Jane Trani, a Bachelor of Tourism Management student representing COME outshone other twelve candidates who vied for the crown after going through series of exposures and question and answer portions.

“I never expected to win but I trusted all my best to the Lord and I’m just very thankful to represent the College of Maritime Education,” Ms. Trani said.

Ms. Trani also bagged the Best in School Uniform minor award while Mr. Sabornido got the Best in Production Number award.

“I’m here today to prove that I deserve to win the title, and I hope that you got inspired of me,” Mr. Sabornido retorted.

Meanwhile, crowd’s favourite, Ms. Skelly Ivy Florida of COT and Mr. Dennis Gabud of the College of Education (COEd) were adjudged as the Mr. and Ms. NSU first runner-up. Florida also bagged most of the minor awards including Ms. Photogenic, Best in Production Number, Best in Swimwear and Best in Philippine Terno.

Mr. & Ms. NSU 2017
Mr. & Ms. NSU 2017

On the other hand, Mr. Jeric Loyola of COME who grabbed the Best in Barong Tagalog award and Ms. Marwel Mae Talle of COED earned the Mr. And Ms. NSU 2nd runner-up title.

In addition, College of Engineering representatives, Mr. Jairudan Lahoylahoy clutched the Mr. Photogenic, Internet Choice and Best in School Uniform, and Ms. Reynalyn Colita snared the Internet Choice award.

Mr. & Ms. NSU 2017
Mr. & Ms. NSU 2017

Panel of judges were composed of Mr. Cerj Michael, Mr. Marvin Lo, Dr.Carmelino P. Bernadas, Mr. Gerry Victor Espina, Ms. Gabrielle Camille Basiano, Ms. Kristine Nicole Biles, Judge Mario Quinit, Judge Thea Gicela Nueva Zamora, Atty. Edna Pitao- Honor, Mr. John Raymond Orejola and Ms. Darl Octa Henessa Santos.

Mr. COT and Ms. COME will be representing the university for the upcoming Search for Mr. and Ms, SCUAA 2017 at Visayas State University.

Previous articleEx-solon wants Ombudsman to probe poll commissioner Lim for impeachment purposes


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here