Joey A. Gabieta

TACLOBAN CITY – Two village officials in Samar and Biliran who were in the narco list of the Philippine Drug Enforcement Agency (PDEA) won their reelection bids during the May 14 barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan elections.

Pomar Jabolin was reelected councilor of Barangay Dos, San Jose de Buan town, Samar while Ricky Ansale received a fresh mandate as councilor of Barangay Matango, Almeria town in Biliran.

Jabolin ranked fifth of 11 candidates for council seats while Ansale finished third of 14 candidates.

Another official from Eastern Visayas who was in the narco list was defeated.

Julie Rebato was not reelected as barangay councilor of Dos, San Jose de Buan, said PO2 Andrew Mark Mario of the San Jose de Buan police station.

The PDEA earlier released the names of 90 barangay captains and 117 barangay councilors who were in a “narco list,” either as protectors or users.

The police in Eastern Visayas had earlier cleared Jabolin, Ansale and Rebato, saying they used to be drug users who changed their ways after surrendering during Oplan Tokhang, the police campaign that asked drug personalities to surrender.


Previous articleWinners of the Barangay and SK Elections in Biliran Province
Next articleOne dead after motorcycle hits pedicab


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here