By Lira Dalangin-Fernandez
First Posted 17:59:00 08/26/2010

MANILA, Philippines—In record time, the House of Representatives has completed the reorganization of its 69 committees, which saw mostly administration allies, partylist lawmakers and even neophyte solons getting chairmanship of key committees.

“We have completed it in record time, within one month,” Majority leader and Mandaluyong Representative Neptali Gonzales II said in a text message after reading on the floor the last batch of names of new committee chairpersons and members of the Commission on Appointments (CA) and House of Representative Electoral Tribunal (HRET), which decides on disqualification cases of congressmen.

Bohol Representative Erico Aumentado is the chairman of the ethics committee, the only committee to be headed by a member of the minority bloc.

The last batch of appointees also include: Biliran Representative Rogelio Espina (population), Negros Occidental Representative Jeffrey Ferrer (land use), Manila Representative Benjamin Asilo (people’s participation), and Bayan Muna partylist Representative Teddy Casiño (small business and entrepreneurship development).

Members of the Commission on Appointments are Representatives Roilo Golez of Paranaque, Antonio del Rosario of Capiz, Rosendo Labadlabad of Zamboanga del Norte, Erineo Maliksi of Cavite, Rex Gatchalian of Valenzuela, Luis Villafuerte of Camarines Sur; Ferjenel Biron of Iloilo, Rodolfo Antonino of Nueva Ecija, Antonio Alvarez of Palawan, Pedro Romualdo of Camiguin, Simeon Datumanong of Maguindanao, and Rodante Marcoleta of Alagad partylist.

The lawmakers who will compose the HRET are Representative Rufus Rodriguez of Cagayan de Oro, Justin Chipeco of Laguna, Ma. Theresa Bonoan-David of Manila, Joselito Mendoza of Bulacan, and Franklin Bautista of Davao del Sur.

Previous articleRed tide found at Carigara Bay in Leyte
Next article(August 2010 Results) July 2010 Nursing Board Exam Philippines


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here